Anti-Aging

Flashback Friday: Is Fish “Brain Food” for Older Adults?

Why has fish consumption been associated with cognitive impairment and loss of executive function?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org’s free newsletter at https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and receive recipes developed by the NF staff that will fuel your fitness goals.

Fruit deficiency as the #1 dietary risk factor? For more, see Inhibiting Platelet Aggregation with Berries (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/inhibiting-platelet-aggregation-with-berries).

But what about those healthy Eskimos? See Omega-3s and the Eskimo Fish Tale (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/Omega-3s-and-the-eskimo-fish-tale).

For more on the shift of the evidence on fish and heart disease, see Is Fish Oil Just Snake Oil? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-fish-oil-just-snake-oil/)

The greatest danger of mercury exposure may be for children; see
• Mercury vs. Omega-3s for Brain Development (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/mercury-vs-omega-3s-for-brain-development/)
• How Long to Detox from Fish Before Pregnancy? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-long-to-detox-from-fish-before-pregnancy/)

Other videos on the effect of fish contaminants and health among adults include Fish and Diabetes (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/fish-and-diabetes/) and Fish Consumption and Suicide (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/fish-consumption-and-suicide/).

Mercury is not the only neurotoxic contaminant of seafood, though. See Diet and Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/diet-and-amyotrophic-lateral-sclerosis-als/) and ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease): Fishing for Answers (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/als-lou-gehrigs-disease-fishing-for-answers/).

And what about plastic? See my recent video, Microplastic Contamination & Seafood Safety (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/microplastic-contamination-and-seafood-safety/).

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-is-fish-brain-food-for-older-adults and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-is-fish-brain-food-for-older-adults. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then "Subtitles/CC."
Do you have feedback about the translations in this video? Please share it here along with the title of the video and language: https://nutritionfacts.zendesk.com/hc/requests/new

Image thanks to damedias via Adobe Stock.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK – How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Related posts

Anti-aging Skin Care Tips for Men

mrwonderful

THIS is What Eating SUGAR Does to Your Skin!

mrwonderful

The Best Type of Exercise for Your Brain

mrwonderful