Nutrition/Health

Flashback Friday: Does Cholesterol Size Matter?

How do American Egg Board arguments hold up to scientific scrutiny, such as the concept that large fluffy LDL cholesterol is protective compared to small, dense LDL?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org’s free newsletter at https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and receive recipes developed by the NF staff that will fuel your fitness goals.

This is why a site like NutritionFacts.org can be so useful, because even when a paper is published in the peer-reviewed medical literature, it can misrepresent the science. But who has time to check the primary sources? I do! If you’d like to support this work, please consider making a tax-deductible donation.

Here are some other videos in which I contrast the available science with what the egg industry asserts:

Egg Industry Blind Spot (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/egg-industry-blind-spot)
Eggs and Cholesterol: Patently False and Misleading Claims (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/eggs-and-cholesterol-patently-false-and-misleading-claims)
Eggs vs. Cigarettes in Atherosclerosis (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/eggs-vs-cigarettes-in-atherosclerosis)
Who Says Eggs Aren’t Healthy or Safe? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/who-says-eggs-arent-healthy-or-safe)
Debunking Egg Industry Myths (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/debunking-egg-industry-myths)
Eggs and Arterial Function (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/eggs-and-arterial-function)
How the Egg Board Designs Misleading Studies (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-the-egg-board-designs-misleading-studies)

For more on the role of cholesterol, see: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5TLzNi5fYd_7qnws4hn3T_32VOc0kRz2

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-does-cholesterol-size-matter and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-does-cholesterol-size-matter. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then "Subtitles/CC."
Do you have feedback about the translations in this video? Please share it here along with the title of the video and language: https://nutritionfacts.zendesk.com/hc/requests/new

Image thanks to Nikol Lohr via Flickr.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK – How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Related posts

Flashback Friday: Ginger for Migraines

mrwonderful

Best Dairy to Avoid Digestive Stress (Lactose Intolerance)

mrwonderful

Muscle & Strength More Important Than Fat Loss?

mrwonderful