Nutrition/Health

Flashback Friday: How to Prevent a Stroke

Insufficient intake of fiber-rich foods may lead to the stiffening of our arteries associated with risk of having a stroke.

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org’s free newsletter at https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and receive recipes developed by the NF staff that will fuel your fitness goals.

This may sound familiar—an abridged version was included in one of my year-in-review live presentations (From Table to Able: Combating Disabling Diseases with Food: https://nutritionfacts.org/video/from-table-to-able/). More on preventing strokes can be found here:

Preventing Strokes with Diet (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-strokes-with-diet/)
Eliminating 90% of Heart Disease Risk (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/eliminating-90-of-heart-disease-risk/)
Food Antioxidants, Stroke, and Heart Disease (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-antioxidants-stroke-and-heart-disease/)

More on the wonders of fiber in:

Dr. Burkitt’s F-Word Diet (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/dr-burkitts-f-word-diet/)
Fiber vs. Breast Cancer (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/fiber-vs-breast-cancer/)
Breast Cancer and Constipation (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/breast-cancer-and-constipation)
Juicing Removes More than Just Fiber (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/juicing-removes-more-than-just-fiber/)

It really is never too early to start eating healthier. See, for example, Heart Disease Starts in Childhood and How to Prevent Prediabetes in Children (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/heart-disease-starts-in-childhood/ and https://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-prevent-prediabetes-in-children/).

I’ll be doing a whole series of videos on stroke risk factors coming up in a couple of months. Stay tuned, and subscribe here to have the day’s video delivered to you.

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-how-to-prevent-a-stroke and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-how-to-prevent-a-stroke. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then "Subtitles/CC."
Do you have feedback about the translations in this video? Please share it here along with the title of the video and language: https://nutritionfacts.zendesk.com/hc/requests/new

Image thanks to ML Cohen via Flickr.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK – How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Related posts

Does Sugar Lead to Weight Gain?

mrwonderful

What is YOUR Motivation to Eat?

mrwonderful

Keto Live Show – Dr. Berg and Karen this Thursday

mrwonderful