Nutrition/Health

Flashback Friday: Which Vegetable Binds Bile Best?

Which foods are best at removing carcinogenic bile acids from the body: asparagus, beets, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, collards, eggplant, green beans, kale, mustard greens, okra, or peppers? And do they work better raw or cooked?

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter and get the Evidence-Based Eating Guide: A Healthy Living Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit.

Why would we want to bind bile in the first place? Make sure you see the “prequel” to this video, Breast Cancer and Constipation (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/breast-cancer-and-constipation).

More raw versus cooked comparisons in:

Best Cooking Method (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/best-cooking-method/)
Raw Food Nutrient Absorption (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/raw-food-nutrient-absorption-3/)
Sometimes the Enzyme Myth Is True (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/sometimes-the-enzyme-myth-is-true/)
The Best Way to Cook Sweet Potatoes (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-best-way-to-cook-sweet-potatoes/)

Beets also have a number of other remarkable properties. Check out my video series on Doping with Beet Juice (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/doping-with-beet-juice/), including Hearts Shouldn’t Skip a Beet (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/hearts-shouldnt-skip-a-beet/).

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-which-vegetable-binds-bile-best and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-which-vegetable-binds-bile-best. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgments for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.”

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Related posts

Can Fasting Reverse a Poor Memory From Aging?

mrwonderful

Why Is Keto (Ketogenic Diet) Bad?

mrwonderful

Reactive Hypoglycemia: Not as Complex as You May Think

mrwonderful