Nutrition/Health

How Much Microplastic Is Found in Fish Fillets?

How many plastic particles per serving have been found in the fish muscle itself?

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter and get the Evidence-Based Eating Guide: A Healthy Living Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit.

This the final video in a three-part series. Here are the first two in case you missed them: Microplastic Contamination and Seafood Safety (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/microplastic-contamination-and-seafood-safety) and Are Microplastics in Seafood a Cancer Risk? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-microplastics-in-seafood-a-cancer-risk).

This isn’t the first time I’ve touched on the issue of seafood and chemical pollutants:
• Fish Consumption and Suicide (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/fish-consumption-and-suicide)
• ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease): Fishing for Answers (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/als-lou-gehrigs-disease-fishing-for-answers/)
• Dioxins in U.S. Farm-Raised Catfish (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/dioxins-in-u-s-farm-raised-catfish/)
• Fish and Diabetes (https://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/fish-and-diabetes)
• California Children Are Contaminated (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/california-children-are-contaminated)
• How Long to Detox from Fish Before Pregnancy (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-long-to-detox-from-fish-before-pregnancy)
• Is Fish “Brain Food� for Older Adults? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/fish-brain-food-older-adults)

But what about the “benefits� we are told about fish? See Omega 3’s and the Eskimo Fish Tale (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/omega-3s-and-the-eskimo-fish-tale) and Is Fish Oil Just Snake Oil? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-fish-oil-just-snake-oil).

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-much-microplastic-is-found-in-fish-fillets and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-much-microplastic-is-found-in-fish-fillets. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgments for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.”

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/

• Podcast : http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Related posts

Improving Memory Loss w/ Light & Photobiomodulation – Lew Lim

mrwonderful

Reduce Coronavirus with High Temperature and Humidity

mrwonderful

Use Apple Cider Vinegar for Muscle Cramps

mrwonderful